First large sacred Baroque building in Switzerland. Commissioned by Jesuits and erected in 1666 by Pater Christoph Vogler. In the mid-18th century the vault was redecorated. The chapel holds the original frock of Brother Klaus (Swiss Patron Saint)
After the fire of 1971 the whole station area was newly built. Quite unique is the transparent entrance hall with the interesting roof, designed by the Spanish architect Santiago Calatrava. The main portal of the old train station is today a gate on Station Square.
Inside the round building, which underwent a thorough renovation in the year 2000, you will find the impressive circular painting which Edouard Castres painted in 1881. It is 10 m high and 112 m in circumference and depicts a memorable episode from the Franco-Prussian War of 1870/71 in which the French Army, under General Bourbaki, crossed into Switzerland. Since it was renovated, the Bourbaki Panorama Lucerne has developed into a unique cultural and meeting center with restaurants, cinemas, museum, an art gallery and shops.
Zeitgeist at the gateway. The present station in Lucerne was opened in 1991, after the old building had been destroyed in a major fire exactly 20 years previously. The main entrance to the old station survived the fire and now stands as an imposing gateway in the middle of the station forecourt. On top of the arch is a statue by the Swiss sculptor Richard Kissling. It is called "Zeitgeist".
Lucerne is especially well-known for its wooden bridges. Today, the Chapel Bridge runs from the New Town on the southern bank of the Reuss to the Rathausquai in the medieval Old Town, zigzagging as it passes the impressive Water Tower.
Lucerne's landmark is considered to be Europe's oldest covered bridge. It was built in 1332 and was originally a part of the city fortifications. The pictorial panels, which were incorporated in the 17th century, contain scenes of Swiss history as well as the Lucerne's history, including the biographies of the city's patron saints, St. Leodegar and St. Maurice.
Lucerne’s water tower is a powerful yet attractive construction. This octagonal tower - over 34 meters high (111.5 ft.) - was built around 1300 as part of the city wall and used as an archive, treasury, prison and torture chamber. Today, the middle floor is home to the headquarters of the Lucerne Artillery Association. Meanwhile, a colony of Alpine Swifts has been roosting under the rooftop for decades. When these black and white birds return from their winter home in Africa, they bring springtime back to Lucerne.
At the outflow of the river Reuss, a historic needle dam, built in 1860, regulates the water level of the lake. The nearby Old Town boasts a town hall which dates back to the Late Renaissance as well as a Jesuit church, Switzerland's oldest Baroque church.
The Court Church in Lucerne is an imposing building full of artistic treasures and curiosities. Gain fascinating insights into peculiarities previously closed to the public during this 90-minute tour of the church. It promises surprises aplenty, as you make your way from the treasury to St. Michael’s Chapel and the rain machine in the attic.
Built between 1602 and 1606 by Anton Isenmann in Italian Renaissance style and covered with a Bern farmhouse roof for weather purposes. The open arcades facing the Reuss still serve Today as a weekly marketplace. The Kornschütte hall above an earlier trading goods store, is used today as a concert and exhibition locale.
Was completed in 1408 as a part of the city fortification. Between 1626 and 1635 Kaspar Meglinger added 67 paintings that represent the “Dance of Death”. Called the Spreuer bridge because chaffs of wheat were thrown in the river here.