The new Freiburg cultural centre in the premises of the former station in the town centre. "Nouveau Monde", the International Film Festival and the Belluard Bollwerk Festival will have their new home here. Opening: September 2007
The only bilingual Swiss university was founded in 1889. The architecture of the Miséricorde building, which was created by Fernand Dumas and Denis Honegger, is typical of the years between 1939 and 1941.
The last covered wooden bridge in Fribourg dates back to 1653.
This chapel, realized by Jean-François de Reyff, is one of the finest works of the Baroque era in Switzerland. We recommend you take the time to make your way there either on foot or by car, because views of the Old Town and cathedral are well and truly worth it.
The club and Fri Art Hall have made it their goal to emphasize the creative process and to foster contemporary art. The face-to-face encounter with the public where it tends to spend time (on the street) is an important part of achieving this goal.
According to legend, if its 74 m tower is unfinished it is because there was no money left. A jewel of Gothic architecture, the cathedral was built between 1283 and 1490.
A charming town nestled in between the meanders of its river, the Sarine, Fribourg is considered to be one of the most beautiful medieval settlements in Europe. Since it was founded by the Dukes of Zahringen in 1157, the town has been able to combine tradition and modernity perfectly.
Over time, Fribourg experienced changes in its urban planning and thus disappeared some fortifications. Today, this group of defense constructions forms the most important ensemble of medieval military architecture in Switzerland. Take the opportunity to discover this medieval heritage. Open from 9am to 7pm, the fortifications are accessible during the summer season for an individual visit or with a guide. The fortifications of the city of Fribourg consist of gates and towers connected in part by sections of ramparts (original enclosure).
In fact, it takes its name (alta riva, in Latin, "high bank") from the presence of an imposing cliff sculpted by the waters that shuts the site, like a insurmountable barrier, the site from the south. The abbey is near the Saint Jacques de Compostelle path. About 20 monks lead a simple, contemplative life here, close to nature. The attractive abbey shop welcomes visitors; there are also guided tours.